Student Organizations

Alpha Eta Mu Beta: AHMB is the National Biomedical Engineering Honor Society that recognizes and encourages excellence in the field of Biomedical Engineering and Bioengineering. Inductees exhibit distinguished scholarship, exemplary character, honorable activities, and leadership. Members focus on developing critical lifelong skills, which prepares them to excel in their careers as leaders and innovators. Faculty advisor is Dr. Barbara Muller-Borer, Faculty sponsor is Ms. Blair Weaver,

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA): Student members have access ot the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. Faculty advisor is Dr. Tarek Abdel-Salam at

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE): Student members are sponsored by full-grade Members or Associate Members. The student must be studying or have an interest in an HVAC&R industry-related field. A student eligible for ASHRAE student membership is a person matriculated in an approved course of study in a university, college, junior college, or technical institute, who is being educated in the arts and sciences covered by the Society’s objectives. Faculty advisor is Dr. Tarek Abdel-Salam at

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME): ASME helps the global engineering community develop solutions to real world challenges. ASME is a not-for-profit professional organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing and skill development across all engineering disciplines, while promoting the vital role of the engineer in society. Faculty advisor is Dr. Tarek Abdel-Salam,

Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES): BMES is a professional society for biomedical engineering and bioengineering. The mission of BMES is to promote and enhance knowledge and education in biomedical engineering and bioengineering worldwide and its utilization for human health and well-being. Faculty advisor is Blair Weaver at

ECU Engineering Honor Society: The honor society is open to the top one fifth of the senior class and the top one eighth of the junior class, based on cumulative grade point average. Members will perform service activities to further the engineering profession and to bring information about engineering to prospective engineers. This is an honor society and is by invitation only.

Engineering Ambassadors: Engineering Ambassadors is the volunteer service corps for the engineering department. They engage in activities to serve the department, the college and the university. Activities include MATHCOUNTS, Science Fair, Open House, Commencement, and tours for visiting high school students. Faculty advisor is Jeff Foeller at

Eta Kappa Nu (HKN): HKN is the International Electrical and Computer Engineering Honor Society of the IEEE. Membership in the IEEE is required for membership in HKN. This honor society encourages and recognizes excellence and meritorious work within the IEEE-designated field of interest. Members seek to advance technology for humanity and the profession. Students are introduced to careers in technology. Faculty advisor of the Mu Lambda Chapter is Dr. Jason Yao,

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE): Promotes learning through collaboration with businesses, information technology professionals, and faculty. A non-profit organization, IEEE is the world’s leading professional association for the advancement of technology. Faculty advisor is Dr. Zhen Zhu at

Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE): IISE is an organization open to all students that is primarily focused on the Industrial and Systems Engineering concentration. The objective of the Chapter is to provide students with outside resources to develop their future professional careers. Also, it is a way in which students can get to know each other better outside of the classroom. The highlight of the IISE year is the Student Regional Conference held annually. Faculty advisor is Dr. Jinkun Lee at

International Society of Pharmaceutical Engineers (ISPE): ISPE is the world’s largest not-for-profit society serving pharmaceutical science and manufacturing professionals. Student membership is designated for full-time students pursuing careers in pharmaceutical science, engineering, or technology. Opportunities include connecting with ISPE members in your local area, interactive online activities, and access to job lists and career resources to maximize your job search. Faculty advisor is Dr. Loren Limberis at

National Society for Black Engineers: NSBE is open to any undergraduate or graduate student enrolled in a Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics (STEM) degree program. The mission of NSBE is to increase the number of culturally responsible Black engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community. Faculty advisor is Dr. Brian Sylcott at

Pirates on Water: This organization is a local student chapter of the American Water Resources Association (AWRA) and a student branch of ECU’s Water Resources Center (WRC). Student members organize environmental community service events such as the annual Tar River Clean Up, learn more about water issues by hosting film screenings and guest speakers, take field trips to see water issues first hand, and take advantage of professional development and funding opportunities offered by the ECU WRC. Faculty co-advisor is Dr. Natasha Bell at

Society of Women Engineers (SWE): This organization establishes engineering as a highly desirable career aspiration for women. SWE empowers women to succeed and advance in those aspirations and be recognized for their life-changing contributions and achievements as engineers and leaders. When you join SWE you become a part of an elite group of women engineers. SWE is the Society for women who want to advance the field of engineering and excel professionally. Faculty advisor is Colleen Janeiro at